BACON (+ some other stuff) PASTA

So, I am a little sad that I have not been able to update this blog as often as I would like – who would have thought things as silly as school and life might get in the way of food blogging?! Crazy. So, now that my fantasies of cooking a new inventive creation and updating daily are behind me (at least until I can get this grad school nonsense out of the way), I am going to admit that I haven’t cooked anything this week. My excuses? Midterm in my single subjects research class (stressful situations like that drive me straight to the bacon – bacon cheeseburgers + tots + jalapeno ranch dipping sauce to be exact – ooo if ANYONE can help me figure out a way to create that wonderful dipping sauce that they make here at Clocked in Athens, I would be forever grateful – but I digress).

judge away but if anything can help de-stress after a long day (or multiple days) of studying and class-ing and midterm-ing – it is this amazingness from Clocked.

Another reason not to cook?! CHIPOTLE finally opened in Athens…not that I have been excited about that or anything…

And yet another reason why I just don’t have the time – when I wasn’t studying/mildly freaking out about studying/in class, I was anxiously sitting by my computer listening to my favorite old radio station (WHFS) to win tickets to see The Gaslight Anthem. I am still having a hard time believing this but my hard work paid off – I ACTUALLY WON. I cannot even begin to express my excitement to be seeing one of my top 5 favorite bands (with one of my favorite concert companions!) in a teeny tiny venue in DC.

So, all together, despite the lack of activity in my kitchen and whole midterm thing, this is turning out to be possibly the BEST. WEEK. EVER.

My “OMG I CAN’T CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT BETWEEN GASLIGHT ANTHEM AND CHIPOTLE” face (otherwise known as the dorky face I make while dancing)

So, anyways, aside from sharing my fun news with the internet – I do have a recipe to share (that is the whole point, right?). This recipe for Bacon Pasta is from pre-blog days (aka about 2 months ago), when I first started making a concerted effort towards using my leftovers.

Usually I forget about any produce or leftovers I have from previous cooking endeavors and things end up going bad and getting thrown out – horrible waste, I KNOW. I have been trying to be better about that lately; this recipe was created out of me attempting responsibility and using leftovers before they grew mold. For once, I thought to combine ingredients I actually had on hand (what a novel idea) from the previous weeks risotto and some canned and frozen veggies to make what turned out to be a pretty tasty pasta dish. With no recipe to guide me, I threw together some bacon, chicken, frozen peas, pasta, plus a few other odds and ends to create a rich and super filling pasta dish for the week. Now, if only I could do this more often…

Now, I recommend throwing on The 59 Sound by The Gaslight Album (if you don’t have it or have never heard of them, do yourself a favor and go get it! Or at least hear it out on Spotify…along with the rest of their albums) and whipping up some yummy, bacon-y pasta while dancing around the kitchen. At least that’s what I like to do.

Bacon Pasta…w/ Chicken, Peas, & Thyme Too!

  • 1/2 pound chicken breasts
  • 1/4 cup bacon, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh thyme
  • 1 can diced tomatos
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pasta
  • Fresh Parmesan cheese, shredded

Bring water to a boil, add salt, and cook pasta al dente. Meanwhile, salt and pepper chicken breasts (both sides!). I bought chicken tenders – smaller/thinner/cheaper/faster cooking. Drizzle olive oil in pan and fry chicken breasts, about 4 minutes on each side. Once cooled, shred. Cook bacon for a few minutes to render fat. Add garlic and cook for 1-2 more minutes, stirring constantly to prevent burning. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil and onions, cook over medium low heat for about 10 minutes or until lightly caramelized. Add tomatoes, lemon juice and thyme, raise heat to medium and reduce. Once slightly reduced, add cream. Cook for a few minutes, then add chicken and pasta. Right before turning off stove, add peas. Scoop into bowls, top with some freshly grated parm, and dig in.

One thought on “BACON (+ some other stuff) PASTA

  1. This dish looks de-lish!! Also, what a bonus….seeing one of your favorite bands AND your parents in the same week💗

Leave a Reply

