Minty Watermelon Lime Smoothie aka My new go-to refreshing summer beverage

This weekend was AthFest here in Athens, GA, which means many things. 1. Tons of incredible live music from a variety of bands (most of whom I admittedly have never heard of) and 2. HOT HOT HOT weather. Yup, it is June in Georgia, so that means that the days of seeing temperatures below 90 degrees are long gone…probably not to be seen again until like, November. Maybe I am exaggerating, but whatever, it has been a sweaty weekend.

Unfortunately, my enjoyment of AthFest was kinda limited this year – my professor for my awesome 5pm-9pm twice a week summer class decided on giving us a midterm this Tuesday (rude). After some intense studying during the day, I treated myself to some shows Friday and Saturday night (Reptar and The District Attorneys – 2 Athens bands that put on phenomenal shows…can’t wait until they come back!). Also, I thought I was being oh-so-smart waiting until the sun was going down to venture out into the heat, thinking maybe things might have cooled down a bit. WRONG. Still hot. So so so hot. And of course I saw a guy from King of Pops walking around tempting me with his cart full of refreshing homemade popsicles ($2.50 a pop isn’t really fitting in with my “budget” these days though).

So why am I going on and on about AthFest and the heat and delicious popsicles?! Well, because I am brain dead from 8+ hours of studying so far today of course! No, well yeah, but really – it was the combination of all of those things that inspired me to whip up one of those watermelon smoothies I posted about a few days ago. SO GOOD! I marched myself over to the store today and purchased a nice big watermelon (for $3.88 – AMAZING!). I felt like Baby from Dirty Dancing as I walked into my house with my prized possession – “I carried a watermelon.”

Ok, so mine wasn’t quite that big, and I wasn’t on vacation, and there was no Patrick Swayze…but I did carry a watermelon. And there might have been some dancing in the kitchen…

Now, if I only had popsicle molds I would use this recipe make my own King of Pops – that’s how good and refreshing this was. And, bonus, according to the folks over at Refinery29 – it not only hydrates, but de-puffs and turns couch potatoes into functional human beings (now you know how I managed to study for so long today!).

I think this drink would make a great mixer for some vodka or tequila (party time after this midterm is over!). After having a not-so-hot watermelon margarita at a bar (it will remain unnamed) this weekend, I feel like I should go share this recipe with them.

Minty Watermelon Lime Smoothie

  • 3 cups watermelon cubes
  • 1/2 cup ice
  • 3-4 mint leaves
  • 1/3 cup sparkling water
  • juice from 1 lime

Throw all of the ingredients in a blender, mix, and enjoy!! This makes about 2 large glasses worth of smoothie. I added a little more sparkling water and a few more ice cubes (it is hot!) once it was in the glass for some extra refreshing-ness.

Leave a Reply

