Migas Breakfast Taco

Image

I am a HUGE fan of Austin, TX – definitely one of the best places I have ever been to for music and food, if not the. best. place. During my last trip there, I made sure to pick up some fresh tortillas that I have been keeping in my freezer so that I can pretend I am still in Austin when I eat breakfast here in Athens (I will be very sad when they are gone). One of my favorite foods to eat while in Austin is the breakfast taco, and I have no idea why these things aren’t EVERYWHERE! SO GOOD! Another fun breakfast item – Migas – a mixture of scrambled eggs, cheese, salsa, tortilla chips, and other ingredients. While I will not claim that I make anything near the breakfast tacos or migas that one might get in Austin, I have thrown together my own version of a migas breakfast taco that makes me happy. And that’s all that matters, right?!

Migas Breakfast Taco – ashley style

  • 1 egg (or 2 egg whites if you want to be healthy-ish)
  • a splash of milk (for those who want more precise measurements, about 1-2 tbs)
  • salt + pepper
  • Goya adobo seasoning w/ pepper
  • 1-2 tbs shredded cheddar cheese (depending on how cheesy you like your eggs)
  • 1 tbs salsa of your choice
  • a handful of crushed tortilla chips
  • Pam, olive oil, or butter
  • 1 flour tortilla

Warm the tortilla over the stove or in the microwave (cover with a damp paper towel). Meanwhile, mix together the egg(s) and milk with a fork. Season to taste with salt and pepper, or the Goya seasoning if you have it. Heat a frying pan coated with cooking spray or a little olive oil/butter (again, depending on how “healthy” of a breakfast you are aiming for) over medium heat. Add egg mixture and swirl around pan. After a few seconds, add the cheese, salsa, and crushed tortilla chips. Cook until lightly scrambled and stuff into the tortilla. Voila, easy and delicious southwestern breakfast 🙂

Image

5 thoughts on “Migas Breakfast Taco

  1. I went to undergrad in Austin, but moved away for grad school. I miss migas tacos so badly! I will definitely try this recipe when I’m feeling homesick for Austin! 🙂

Leave a Reply

